Home » Certification » Certification Process

Certification Process

Certification Process

The Certified Forensic Accountant (CrFA®) program is designed for fraud examiners, forensic accountants, and other corporate professionals with appropriate experience. The ICFA reserves the right to ensure an appropriate mix of participants and to refuse any applications that do not meet course entry requirements.

Smiling man with arms crossed in office

 To become a CrFA®:

  1. The candidate must have at least two years of proven experience in accounting, auditing, criminology, fraud investigation, loss prevention, or law.
  2. The candidate must complete the CrFA® Program.
  3. The candidate must then take and pass the assessment process and examination.
  4. The candidate must also agree to abide by the ICFA Code of Ethics.
  5. Lastly, the candidate must adhere to the Maintenance of Certification requirement, which consists of several Continuing Professional Development (CPD) opportunities.

Know more about the different CrFA® membership categories.